Internet connected flower pot – challenge accepted

I have been challenged by Adelle and Jono via a Christmas present (Arduino set) to build my first hardware project.

Challenge accepted! I’ll build an internet connected flower pot that will notify me when our plants on the balcony have to be watered.

Vision

To be fair, I am not going to connect it to internet.

It’s only going to display “Please sir, can I have some more?” on the screen once the soil is too dry. The humidity level to trigger the message will be set by a dial.

Pre-planning

The things that I already have

  • Batch of 20+ multicoloured wires
  • Breadboard
  • 16×2 Blue backlight LCD module
  • 4 Potentiometer ( to create analog sensors and joysticks )
  • 6 Switches
  • Red, Green, Yellow, Pure White led packs ( 12 LED’s )
  • 6 packs of Resistors
  • 10 multicolor switch caps to make a colourful interface for the kit
  • Arduino Uno
  • USB cable
  • Flower pot
